Motorcycle/Scooter

motorcycleMotorcycles

To legally operate a motorcycle in New Jersey you must provide proof of financial responsibility. Compliance for most riders comes in the form of motorcycle insurance.

NOTE: New Jersey has some of the most unique car insurance laws in the country. With this in mind, it is important to understand that while most states’ car and motorcycle insurance requirements mirror each other, New Jersey’s motorcycle insurance requirements do not compare to its car insurance requirements.

In order to register your motorcycle in New Jersey, you must have valid liability insurance to help cover costs related to property damage or bodily injury suffered by others in an accident you cause.

Your motorcycle insurance policy must include at least the following minimum coverage limits per accident:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury per person.
  • $30,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are hurt in the accident.
  • $5,000 for property damage.

It is important to note that these are only the minimum requirements. If you feel that these limits do not provide you with adequate financial protection you should ask us about higher limits.

When you are deciding on your motorcycle insurance, we can also discuss these common optional coverages:

  • Collision – This will help with repairs to your motorcycle after an accident.
  • Comprehensive – This covers repairs for damages due to most types of non-accident related damages.
  • Medical payments – If you are hurt in an accident, this coverage can help with medical costs.
  • Towing and labor – This coverage can help provide and pay for emergency roadside assistance and towing if your motorcycle breaks down.

No insurance discounts are offered for donning a helmet while riding. As is, every rider, regardless of age, is required to wear a helmet.

Not having motorcycle insurance can lead to the following penalties:

  • Fines
  • A suspended license
  • Community service

Also keep in mind that insurance violations typically result in an increase in premium rates. Your insurance history may be factored into your motorcycle insurance rates.

Scooters/Mopeds

Street-legal scooters, not the toy variety, must be registered and titled with the state, regardless of motor size. These vehicles are treated as motorcycles and will be tagged and titled as such during registration. They must meet safety requirements, and pass an emissions test, and you’ll need to provide the manufacturer’s certificate of origin or the original title signed over to you. Be sure to take along the Bill of Sale and proof of insurance.

 

A moped is basically a bicycle with a “helper” motor. The state of New Jersey classifies a moped as having a motor with less than 50 ccs of power, with a speed not greater than 25 mph, no more than 1.5 brake horsepower, and be classified as a pedal bicycle. To register your moped, you’ll need to visit your local Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency with the manufacturer’s certificate of origin, if new, or the current title and registration papers signed over to you, if used. You’ll also need to provide the Bill of Sale and proof of insurance.

 

To operate scooters and mopeds on New Jersey roadways, you’ll need a valid motorcycle license. You and your passengers will need to wear an approved, reflective helmet. You’ll also need a face shield or goggles, unless your bike has a windshield.